Music Time Forgot – Yung Wu’s “Shore Leave”

Released in 1987, “Shore Leave” was Yung Wu’s only album. However, the members of Yung Wu were incredibly active!

Yung Wu was one of three 1980s side-project bands consisting of members from the legendary group The Feelies. Dave Weckerman had joined The Feelies in 1984 as a percussionist, but on “Shore Leave” he was Yung Wu’s lead singer and songwriter. Glenn Mercer (guitar), Bill Million (guitar), Keith DeNunzio (bass), and Vinny DeNunzio (drums) retained their roles from The Feelies, and John Baumgartner was recruited to play keyboard from the (awesomely named) group Speed The Plough.

Yung Wu featured a more down-to-earth vibe than The Feelies, but “Shore Leave” retained the group’s joyful, post-punk pop that made their sound unique. Their album was out-of-print for some time until Bar/None Records reissued it last spring. You can listen to the full album below, purchase it from Amazon, and stream it on any major music service.

*Tip of the Hat* to Jason Hartley for the recommendation!